Updated information for Beaufort County residents regarding voting in the Town of Yemassee

November 2, 2021, voters in the Town of Yemassee will be able to vote for their choices for the office of mayor and two council member seats. Voting machines throughout the state have been recently updated and there are some significant differences for residents residing in Beaufort County, that we’d like to bring to your attention prior to election day.

If you live within the Town limits of Yemassee but reside in Beaufort County- you will no longer vote for the Town elections (in this case, Mayor & two Council seats) at the Yemassee Town Hall. Instead, you will vote at your respective precinct in Beaufort County, whether it be Sheldon 1 or Sheldon 2. You will be able to cast your vote for the Town of Yemassee election as well as the Beaufort County Referendum Questions. If you wish to vote absentee in Beaufort County, you may do so any weekday from 9AM – 4PM at any of the three Beaufort County Board of Voter Registration & Election locations throughout the county. This is helpful in the event you work on Hilton Head Island or Bluffton. You can vote absentee at the Hilton Head or Bluffton locations as well as the headquarters in Beaufort.

The locations for absentee voting in Beaufort County are:

(Located in Industrial Village)
15 John Galt Rd
Beaufort, SC 29906
(843) 255-6900
(Located at Ulmer Rec Center)
61 Ulmer Rd
Bluffton, SC 29910
(843) 255-6940
Hilton Head Island
(Located in Hilton Head Gov. Annex)
539 William Hilton Pkwy
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
(843) 255-6930

Polling Precincts for the Town of Yemassee

Precinct(s)Polling Location & Info
(Hampton County residents)
Yemassee Municipal Complex
101 Town Cir, Yemassee, SC 29945-3363
Sheldon 1
(Some Beaufort County residents)
Elijah Washington Medical Center
211 Paige Point Rd
Seabrook, SC 29940-2737
Sheldon 2
(Some Beaufort County residents)
Booker T. Washington Community Center
182 Booker T. Washington Cir
Yemassee, SC 29945-7613

There are no changes for residents residing in Hampton County, those residents will still vote at the Yemassee Town Hall or vote absentee at the Hampton County Board of Voter Registration office located at 201 Jackson Ave West, Hampton, SC 29924.

PDF icon yemassee_voting_procedures.pdf190.48 KB